2014 Monsignor John T. Fagan Awards Dinner

May 7, 2014 
at Guastavino’s in New York City we gathered together for the 2014 Monsignor John T. Fagan Awards Dinneand to celebrate our mission and recognize the important work done by our honorees. This year, Little Flower and our Honorary Chairs, Susan Lucci and Helmut Huber and our Honoary Co-Chairs, Robert Sheehan and Betsy Comerford, are extremely proud to honor three individuals for their commitment to Little Flower and their exceptional charitable work in New York.

Humanitarian Award:

Frank ComerfordFrancis X. Comerford, Chief Revenue Officer & President of Commerical Operations, NBC Universal Maura ManningMaura Manning,   Senior Vice President, Ralph Lauren Corp.

Francis X. Comerford, a 30+-year television veteran, oversees commercial efforts for all of the NBC Universal Owned Television Stations across the US. He joined NBC in 1994 and before being promoted to his current role, he was President and General Manager of NBC’s flagship station, WNBC-TV.

Frank is very active in the community and serves on many charitable boards, including the Association for a Better New York, the Archdiocese of New York Catholic Charity, Xavier High School, the St. Patrick’s Day Parade Committee and the Diocese of Brooklyn’s TVC.

Maura Manning Comerford is a Senior Vice President at Ralph Lauren Corp., overseeing the Design and Development and Men’s & Women’s woven shirts and blouses for all Ralph Lauren brands and all Prints for Men’s and Women’s products ranging from swimwear to shirts.

Maura has been with Ralph Lauren Corp. for more than 30 years in positions of increasing responsibility and in 2004 was promoted to Senior Vice President.

Maura is active in the community working with numerous charitable organizations, and in addition she assists Frank in his efforts on the charitable boards he is associated with. Maura’s large extended family has a long history of supporting Little Flower. Her great-Uncle, Father William Cullen, worked alongside Little Flower founder Msgr. Bernard Quinn as one of the first parish priests at St. Peter Claver Church, inspiring his family to take Little Flower into their hearts as he and Msgr. Quinn had. Over the years Maura has been a committee member and committee chair for many Little Flower celebrations.

Maura attended Marymount College in Virginia. She and Frank reside in Manhattan & Long Island with their 4 ½ year old son Francis.

We are honored to recognize Frank and Maura for their longstanding commitment to Little Flower, and their desire to provide opportunities for disadvantaged youth and adults across New York.

Service Award:

Dan Kurtz

Daniel L. Kurtz,
Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, LLP

Daniel L. Kurtz, a graduate of Brown and The University of Chicago Law School, went to work at Skadden when it was a small firm.  From there, he became the founding Executive Director of New York Lawyers for the Public Interest, and in 1979 joined Attorney General Bob Abrams’ office where he helped create the modern Charities Bureau.

After leaving government, Dan returned to private practice and over the next 25 years built a highly successful practice representing a broad range of nonprofit organizations.  In 2008 he returned to Skadden to head its newly established Exempt Organizations practice.

Dan is an active volunteer and serves on several boards.  He is married and has two sons and recently became a grandfather.

Thank you to everyone who attended the dinner-we hope you had a wonderful time. It was great seeing you all.